Recently, the concept of ecosystem has been widely used in many areas ranging from the organization of living things in nature to the performance of social institutions, business, economics and technology.

Experts of Global Education Futures (Jessica Spencer-Keyse, Head of Global Research, HundrED; Pavel Luksha, Professor, Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO; Joshua Cubista, Dean, Social Innovation Institute) argue that people have been experiencing one of the most dynamic periods in the history and facing the consequences of global changes and pressure as a result of certain processes. Society has been more acutely aware of ecological and biological threats as well as fragility of the social structure.

We have become hyper connected in the global network of information flow and social media and dependent on the Internet. Digital innovations fundamentally change the labour market and can transform the world economy. High risk and high potential technology (for example, genetic engineering) are becoming a reality and represent a great potential and global threat. Demographic indicators such as urbanization, increased life expectancy, and low birth rate have also changed in a number of regions (Spencer-Keyse, Luksha, Cubista, 2020).

In recent years, English abbreviation VUCA has been used to denote the world complexity and unpredictability. It stands for Volatile, Uncertain, Complex and Ambiguous.

It is obvious that education around the globe does not provide adolescents with the skills to navigate the VUCA world that would correspond to the healthy and sustainable lifestyle prioritized by young people. According to the World Skills report, only 20% of young people (out of 15,000 respondents in 19 different countries) value their education (OECD, 2019). Similarly, according to the HundrEd research report “Every Child to Flourish”, 83% of young people do not feel prepared for life in the modern world (Warren & Spencer-Keyse, 2018).

Dr. Bronwen Rees (psychotherapist, Matrix College of Counseling and Psychotherapy) suggests positive alternatives to the VUCA abbreviation. He argues we can qualitatively change overall understanding of the VUCA world:

  • Volatility can be substituted for Vision;
  • Uncertainty — for Understanding;
  • Complexity — for Clarity;
  • Ambiguity — for Agility (Rees, 2017).

Spencer-Keyse et al. (2020) states that it is important to shift from personalized and subject-oriented learning to cooperative holistic one to solve ”ambiguous” problems in the context of school education because supra-subject and ”life” skills are becoming increasingly significant. The classical education system forms a ”modular person” who is standardized and ”built” out of learning modules of knowledge and skills. The innovation system, in turn, forms a ”complex person”, i.e. a unique personality is brought up by building individual learning trajectories and developing inter-disciplinary skills.

A possible answer to the question how a holistic personality can be developed in the context of secondary education (and not only), experts suggest considering a student as a part of the learning ecosystem.

The term “learning ecosystem” has been used relatively recently. The Virginia Polytechnic Institute Innovation Strategy 2007 notes that the ”learning ecosystem” includes assets and interests of stakeholders (faculty, students, industries, communities and individuals representing each of these categories) and aims to achieve synergetic outcomes so that everyone would benefit (Pearce & McCoy, 2007).

In 2011, Innovation Unit in partnership with CISCO published a report “Developing an Innovation Ecosystem for Education” (Hannon, Patton, & Temperley, 2011) where the concept of ”ecosystem” is primarily considered as a ”support system for innovations” (including social). Since the ecosystem approach in education is just evolving and it is a complex concept in general, there is currently no single definition of the learning ecosystem.

Learning ecosystems should be considered as a means combining different types of innovational, entrepreneurial and learning ecosystem approaches (see below, Spencer-Keyse et al., 2020).

 

Figure 1. Example of interrelated multi-level ecosystems in entrepreneurship, innovations and education (source: Spencer-Keyse et al., 2020)

Characteristics of a learning ecosystem

Spencer-Keyse et al. (2020) state that the learning ecosystem is multifaceted, co-created and purposeful.

Multifaceted means the ecosystem engages different stakeholders in decision-making. They are first liner institutions or educational organizations (schools, universities) and second liner institutions that establish demands and operating constraints for learning providers, yet do not often engage in providing learning experiences themselves (managers, professional communities, banks, parents and the media). It should be noted that learning ecosystems establish relationships to effectively and intentionally build the environment and provide access to available resources.

Another characteristic of learning ecosystem is an opportunity to co-create, i.e. stakeholders can collaborate, manage and implement the learning process.  This characteristic describes decentralized ecosystem that enables everyone to exchange experience, knowledge and ideas to effectively organize the educational process following the principles of inclusion, diversity and equity.

The last characteristic, purposefulness means activities of the learning participants are organized to achieve the main goal – learning. An ecosystem can also refer to other objectives such as social and universal well-being, inner and collective transformation, development and growth, joy of learning or conscious evolution.

 

Sources:

OECD (2019). Youth Voice for the Future of Work. Retrieved from https://worldskills.org/what/projects/youth-voice/

Spencer-Keyse, J., Luksha, P., Cubista, J. (2020) Learning Ecosystems: An Emerging Praxis For The Future Of Education Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO and Global Education Futures: Moscow

Hannon V., Patton A., & Temperley J. (2011). Developing an Innovation Ecosystem for Education. London: Innovation Unit.

Pearce A., McCoy A. (2007) Creating an Educational Ecosystem for Construction: A Model for Research, Teaching, and Outreach Integration and Synergy. Working paper E14. Myers-Lawson School of Construction, Department of Building Construction, VirginiaTech.

Rees, B. (2017). The Use of Mindfulness in a Traumatic VUCA World. In Managing VUCA Through Integrative Self-Management (pp. 193-206). Springer, Cham.

Warren F., & Spencer-Keyse J. (2018). Every Child to Flourish Understanding Global Perspectives on Improving Education. HunrEd.

Дайджест 21 финал_en

0
Authorization
*
*

Registration
*
*
*
A password has not been entered
*
Password generation

В последнее время понятие «экосистема» используется во многих сферах, начиная от организации жизнедеятельности организмов в природе до функционирования социальных институтов, бизнеса, экономики и технологий.

Согласно экспертам инициативы Global Education Futures (руководитель исследовательского блока HundrED Джессика Спенсер-Кейс, профессор практики Московской школы управления СКОЛКОВО Павел Лукша, декан Института социальных инноваций Джошуа Кубиста), мы переживаем один из самых динамичных периодов в истории человечества и испытываем на себе последствия глобальных изменений и давление со стороны определенных процессов. Общество стало более остро осознавать угрозы экологического и биологического характера, а также хрупкость социального устройства.

Мы стали «гиперсвязаны» в глобальной сети информационного потока и социальных медиа и зависимы от Интернета. Инновации в секторе цифровых технологий кардинально меняют картину рынка труда и могут перевернуть мировую экономику. «Технологии с высоким риском и высоким потенциалом» (например, генетическая инженерия) становятся реальностью и представляют собой как великий потенциал, так и опасность мирового масштаба. Изменились и демографические показатели – урбанизация, повышение продолжительности жизни, понижение уровня рождаемости в ряде регионов (Спенсер-Кейс, Лукша, Кубиста, 2020).

В последние годы для обозначения сложности и непредсказуемости мира используется английская аббревиатура VUCA, означающая нестабильный (Volatile), неопределенный (Uncertain), сложный (Complex) и неоднозначный (Ambiguous) мир.

Становится очевидно, что образование по всему миру не дает подросткам навыки навигации в мире VUCA, которые бы соответствовали столь приоритизируемому молодежью здоровому и устойчивому образу жизни. Согласно докладу World Skills, только 20% молодых людей (из 15 000 респондентов в 19 разных странах) ценят свое образование (ОЭСР, 2019). Аналогично, по данным исследования HundrEd «Каждый ребенок должен процветать» (Every Child to Flourish), 83% молодежи не считают себя подготовленными к жизни в современном мире (Warren & Spencer-Keyse, 2018).

В качестве замены отрицательного значения мира VUCA д-р Бронвен Рис (психотерапевт, Matrix College of Counselling and Psychotherapy) предлагает положительные альтернативы аббревиатуры. По его мнению, мы можем качественно изменить само понимание VUCA:

  • Нестабильность (Volatility) переходит в Видение (Vision)
  • Неопределенность (Uncertainty) переходит в Понимание (Understanding)
  • Сложность (Complexity) — в Ясность (Clarity)
  • Неоднозначность (Ambiguity) — в Гибкость (Agility) (Rees, 2017).

Согласно Спенсер-Кейс и др. (2020), для решения «неоднозначных» проблем в рамках системы школьного образования важно перейти от индивидуального и предметно-ориентированного образования к совместному целостному образованию, потому что все большее значение приобретают надпредметные и «жизненные» навыки. Классическая система образования формирует «Модульного человека», который согласно стандарту «собирается» из обучающих модулей знаний и навыков. В свою очередь, инновационная система формирует «Сложного человека» – за счет индивидуальных траекторий образования и развития междисциплинарных навыков выращивается уникальная личность.

В качестве возможного ответа на вопрос о способах формирования целостной личности в рамках среднего образования (и не только), экспертами предлагается рассматривать обучающегося как часть образовательной экосистемы.

Термин «образовательная экосистема» стал употребляться сравнительно недавно. В инновационной стратегии Политехнического университета Вирджинии 2007 года было отмечено, что «образовательная экосистема включает в себя совокупность активов и интересов всех заинтересованных сторон (преподавательского состава, студентов, отрасли промышленности, сообществ и отдельных лиц в каждой из этих категорий), цель которой — достижение синергетических результатов, которые выгодны всем» (Pearce & McCoy, 2007).

В 2011 году организация Innovation Unit в партнерстве с CISCO опубликовала доклад «Развитие инновационной экосистемы для образования» (Hannon, Patton, & Temperley, 2011), рассматривая понятие «экосистема» в первую очередь как «систему поддержки инноваций» (в т.ч. социальных). Так как экосистемный подход в образовании находится на стадии становления, а также ввиду сложности понятия, на данный момент отсутствует единое определение образовательной экосистемы.

Образовательные экосистемы следует рассматривать как средство объединения различных типов инновационных, предпринимательских и образовательных экосистемных подходов (см. рис. ниже, Спенсер-Кейс и др., 2020).

Рис.1. Пример взаимосвязи многоуровневых экосистем в сфере предпринимательства, инноваций и образования (Источник: Спенсер-Кейс и др., 2020)

 

Характеристики образовательной экосистемы

Согласно Спенсер-Кейс и др. (2020), основными характеристиками образовательной экосистемы является многосторонность, сотворчество и целенаправленность.

Многосторонность предусматривает активное вовлечение различных участников в процесс принятия решений. Так, различаются «игроки первой линии» или непосредственные участники образовательного процесса (школы, университеты) и «игроки второй линии», которые устанавливают правила и ограничения в деятельности, но не взаимодействуют с обучающимся напрямую (управленцы, профессиональные сообщества, банки, родители, СМИ). Отличительным в данном случае качеством образовательных экосистем является целенаправленное выстраивание отношений для эффективного и целенаправленного построения среды и предоставления доступа к ресурсам.

Отсюда следует вторая характеристика образовательных экосистем – возможность сотворчества, под которым подразумевается совместная работа всех вовлеченных лиц в организацию и реализацию образовательного процесса. Данная характеристика отражает децентрализованность экосистемы, позволяя всем обмениваться опытом, знаниями и идеями для более эффективной организации образовательного процесса и основываясь на принципах инклюзивности, многообразия, равных возможностей.

Последняя характеристика, целенаправленность экосистемы подразумевает организацию деятельности всех участников таким образом, чтобы все их действия и усилия были направлены на достижение главной цели – обучения. Экосистема также может подразумевать достижений иных целей: общественное и всеобщее благополучие, личная и коллективная трансформация, рост и развитие, удовольствие от обучения или повышение коллективной осознанности.

 

Источники:

ОЭСР (2019). Youth Voice for the Future of Work. Retrieved from https://worldskills.org/what/projects/youth-voice/

Спенсер-Кейс Д., Лукша П., Кубиста Д. (2020). Образовательные экосистемы: возникающая практика для будущего образования. Московская школа управления СКОЛКОВО и Global Education Futures: Москва

Hannon V., Patton A., & Temperley J. (2011). Developing an Innovation Ecosystem for Education. London: Innovation Unit.

Pearce A., McCoy A. (2007) Creating an Educational Ecosystem for Construction: A Model for Research, Teaching, and Outreach Integration and Synergy. Working paper E14. Myers-Lawson School of Construction, Department of Building Construction, VirginiaTech.

Rees, B. (2017). The Use of Mindfulness in a Traumatic VUCA World. In Managing VUCA Through Integrative Self-Management (pp. 193-206). Springer, Cham.

Warren F., & Spencer-Keyse J. (2018). Every Child to Flourish Understanding Global Perspectives on Improving Education. HunrEd.

0
Авторизация
*
*

Регистрация
*
*
*
Пароль не введен
*
Генерация пароля