In 2020, in addition to the results of PISA, ICILS, PIAAC and TALIS, already published a year earlier, the public interested in trends in the development of education also could access the results of the TIMSS 2019 study, in which Kazakhstan traditionally takes part.

Such a volume of data obtained through various measurements on the state and development of the education system in the Republic of Kazakhstan provides an opportunity for an in-depth analysis of education indicators, comparing them both with the results of other countries, and studying in-country trends.

This section of the digest presents an analysis of research articles on the use of the results of international comparative studies and the “pitfalls” arising in their application to justify reforms.

As E. Klieme (2020) notes in his work on the use of ILSAs in education policy and practice, their main purpose is to measure indicators of the effectiveness, equity and productivity of educational systems, setting benchmarks for international comparison, tracking trends over time, informing educational policies at different levels on innovation in education management and curriculum.

In many countries, including Kazakhstan, ILSA results are widely reported (e.g., PISA results), having “far-reaching influence on education policy” (Klieme, 147, in Hall et al., 2020).

Noting that ILSAs can further develop the educational effectiveness research movement by providing extensive and thoroughly verified data, the author cautions against simplistic interpretation of the results of these studies to avoid misgeneralizations.

Thus, students’ previous achievements (preschool education, additional education, etc.) may have significant importance on their final results, as a result of which the “direction of causality” may be unclear. The author notes that both policymakers and researchers themselves have often been misled by hasty interpretations and too far-reaching conclusions.

Klieme also makes an interesting point – instead of substantiating claims about educational effectiveness as such (e.g., assessing the impact of policies and practices on student achievement), ILSA data can be used to obtain information about the distribution of educational opportunities among students, families, schools and regions.

In such a case, policy and practice are treated as dependent variables, while student performance and their marital status are treated as independent variables. In other words, the author proposes not to consider the results of PISA or TIMSS as evidence of the effectiveness of a particular program or reform, but, on the contrary, to assess the impact of policy on indicators of the quality of education.

According to the author, this will allow asking questions as “Do migrant students and students from socially vulnerable families have an equal share of well-trained teachers, school principals, favorable and motivating classroom environment and opportunities for extracurricular learning?” or “Who gets differentiated instruction, supportive feedback and support from their teachers?”

In his chapter “Policies and Practices of Assessment: A Showcase for the Use (and Misuse) of International Large Scale Assessments in Educational Effectiveness Research,” Klieme analyzes the “invariance” of measurements (the same understanding of the semantic construct in different countries) used in PISA 2015.

For example, after conducting a secondary analysis of student responses to questions about teachers’ feedback in country clusters by language and region, the author concludes that the OECD’s approach to ranking countries on this issue is erroneous, and “instead of providing meaningful and useful information, generates misleading myths about differences between countries ”(Klieme, 163, in Hall et al., 2020). Specifically, the author found bias concerning English-speaking countries that scored above the OECD average on feedback and formative assessments. However, Klieme recognizes the potential for using ILSA data to inform research on educational effectiveness.

In 2020, the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA) published a book on the reliability and validity of ILSAs, which includes a series of articles analyzing data from IEA research.

In a chapter titled “Understanding the Policy Influence of International Large-Scale Assessments in Education” Rutkowski et al. analyze methods for systematizing making policy decisions based on ILSA data.

As the authors note, in the educational community, and sometimes among politicians themselves, there can be an erroneous expectation that these ILSAs automatically offer political solutions. It is rather difficult to trace the real relationship between the results of such studies as TIMSS and PIRLS and the measures taken in educational policy, the effectiveness of reforms, etc. – often high-profile releases of research results are used to justify an already existing agenda.

Rutkowski et al. warn that even when such an association is identified, it is still difficult to ascertain the direction of the relationship or the degree of influence that ILSAs have had on any policy change that results. In other words, it is difficult to prove otherwise – that a policy change would not have occurred in the absence of a specific ILSA.

The authors note that countries very rarely carry out a systematic analysis of ILSA data in the context of a specific education system.

As author notes, the connection of any reforms with the results of ILSA occurs when an assumption is made based on the sequence of events, that is, it is assumed that since one event occurs after another, it follows from it (p.264). In the meantime, statements of causation implying that a particular study led to a particular policy decision requires a methodological framework that may simply not be possible due to the complexity of most national systems.

The authors developed a model to assess the impact of ILSA on policy based on the model for determining whether countries’ education goals are in line with ILSA goals, previously proposed by Oliveri et al. (2018).

Sources:

Klieme, E. (2020) “Policies and Practices of Assessment: A Showcase for the Use (and Misuse) of International Large-Scale Assessments in Educational Effectiveness Research” in International Perspectives in Educational Effectiveness Research, (ed.) Hall, J., Lindorff, A., Sammons, P.  Springer Nature Switzerland, doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-44810-3

Rutkowski, D., Thompson, G.& Rutkowski, L. (2020) “Understanding the Policy Influence of International Large-Scale Assessments in Education” in Reliability and Validity of International Large-Scale Assessment. Understanding IEA’s Comparative Studies of Student Achievement, (ed.) Wagemaker, H. (2020). Springer, C. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-53081-5

Oliveri, M. E., Rutkowski, D., & Rutkowski, L. (2018). Bridging validity and evaluation to match international large-scale assessment claims and country aims. ETS Research Report Series, 2018(1), 1–9. https://doi.org/10.1002/ets2.12214.

 

0
Authorization
*
*

Registration
*
*
*
A password has not been entered
*
Password generation

В 2020 году, вдогонку к уже опубликованным годом ранее результатам PISA, ICILS, PIAAC, TALIS заинтересованная в трендах развития образования общественность получила доступ к результатам исследования TIMSS 2019, в котором традиционно принимает участие Казахстан.

Такой объем полученных посредством различных замеров данных о состоянии и развитии системы образования Республики Казахстан предоставляет возможность глубинного анализа индикаторов образования, сопоставления их как с результатами других стран, так и изучения внутристрановых тенденций.

В данном разделе дайджеста представлен анализ научных статей об использовании результатов международных сопоставительных исследований и возникающих в процессе их применения для аргументирования реформ «подводных камнях».

Как отмечает в своей работе об использовании МСИ в политике и практике образования E. Klieme (2020)[1], основной целью МСИ является замер индикаторов эффективности, справедливости и продуктивности образовательных систем, установка ориентиров для международного сопоставления, отслеживание тенденций во времени, информирование образовательной политики на разных уровнях об инновациях в управлении образованием и учебных программах.

При этом, во многих странах, включая Казахстан, результаты МСИ широко освещаются (пр-р, результаты PISA), имея «далеко идущее влияние на политику в области образования» (Klieme, 147, в Hall и др., 2020).

Отмечая, что МСИ могут способствовать дальнейшему развитию движения по исследованию эффективности образования, предоставляя обширные и тщательно верифицированные данные, автор предостерегает о необходимости интерпретировать результаты данных исследований с осторожностью, во избежание ошибочных обобщений.

Так, существенную важность в формировании итоговых результатов могут иметь предыдущие достижения учащихся (дошкольное образование, посещение доп.занятий, и пр.), в результате чего «направление причинности» (direction of causality) может быть неясным. Автор отмечает, что как разработчики политики, так и сами исследователи часто оказывались в заблуждении из-за поспешных интерпретаций и слишком далеко идущих выводов.

Klieme высказывает интересную мысль – вместо обоснования утверждений об образовательной эффективности как таковой (пр-р, оценка влияния политик и практик на успеваемость учащихся), данные МСИ могут использоваться для получения информации о распределении образовательных возможностей между учащимися, семьями, школами и регионами.

В таком случае, политика и практика рассматриваются как зависимые переменные, в то время как успеваемость учащихся, а также их семейное положение будут рассматриваться как независимые переменные. Иными словами, автор предлагает не рассматривать результаты PISA или TIMSS как свидетельство эффективности той или иной программы или реформы, а, наоборот, оценивать влияние политики на на показатели качества образования.

Это, по его мнению, позволит задавать такие вопросы, как «Имеют ли учащиеся-мигранты и учащиеся из социально незащищенных семей равную долю хорошо подготовленных учителей, директоров школ, благоприятной и мотивирующей к развитию обстановки в классе и возможностей внеклассного обучения?» или «Кто получает дифференцированные инструкции, поддерживающую обратную связь и поддержку от своих учителей»?».

В своей главе «Policies and Practices of Assessment: A Showcase for the Use (and Misuse) of International Large Scale Assessments in Educational Effectiveness Research» Klieme анализирует «инвариантность» измерений (одинаковое понимания смыслового конструкта в разных странах), используемых в PISA 2015.

К примеру, проведя вторичный анализ ответов учащихся на вопросы о предоставлении учителями им обратной связи в разрезе кластеров стран по признаку языка и региона, автор приходит к выводу что подход ОЭСР к ранжированию стран по данному вопросу ошибочен, и «вместо предоставления значимой и полезной информации, порождает вводящие в заблуждение мифы о различиях между странами» (Klieme, 163, в Hall и др., 2020). В частности, автор обнаружил предвзятость в отношении англоязычных стран, результаты которых по вопросу обратной связи и формативного оценивания оказались выше среднего по ОЭСР. Тем не менее, Klieme признает возможность использования данных МСИ для информирования исследований эффективности образования.

В 2020 году Международной ассоциацией по оценке учебных достижений (IEA) была опубликована книга о надежности и валидности МСИ, включающая серию статей с анализом данных исследований IEA.

В одной из глав под названием «Понимая влияние МСИ на политику в образовании», Rutkowski и др. анализируют методы систематизации процесса принятия политических решений на основе данных МСИ.

Как отмечают авторы, в образовательном сообществе, а иногда и среди самих политиков, может возникать ошибочное ожидание, что данные МСИ автоматически предлагают политические решения. Достаточно трудно проследить реальную взаимосвязь между результатами таких исследований как TIMSS, PIRLS и предпринятыми мерами в образовательной политике, эффективностью реформ, и т.д. – зачастую громкие релизы результатов исследований используются для оправдания уже существующей повестки дня.

Rutkowski и др. предупреждают, что, даже когда такая ассоциация идентифицирована, по-прежнему сложно установить направление взаимоотношений или степень влияния, которое МСИ оказали на любое изменение политики, которое в результате произошло. Другими словами, трудно доказать обратное – что изменение политики не произошло бы в отсутствие конкретного МСИ.

Авторы отмечают, что странами очень редко проводится системный анализ данных МСИ в контексте конкретной системы образования.

Как правило, связывание каких-либо реформ с результатами МСИ происходит, когда «делается предположение на основе последовательности событий, то есть предполагается, что, поскольку одно событие происходит за другим, оно из него следует» (264 стр.). Тем временем, заявления о причинно-следственных связях, подразумевающие, что конкретное исследование привело к принятию определенного политического решения, требуют методологической основы, которая может быть просто невозможна из-за сложности большинства национальных систем.

Авторы разработали модель для оценки влияния МСИ на политику на основе модели определения соответствия целей образования стран целям МСИ, ранее предложенной Oliveri и др. (2018).

Дайджест 20. Результаты научных исследований для информирования политики в образовании

Источники:

Klieme, E. (2020) “Policies and Practices of Assessment: A Showcase for the Use (and Misuse) of International Large-Scale Assessments in Educational Effectiveness Research” in International Perspectives in Educational Effectiveness Research, (ed.) Hall, J., Lindorff, A., Sammons, P.  Springer Nature Switzerland, doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-44810-3

Rutkowski, D., Thompson, G.& Rutkowski, L. (2020) “Understanding the Policy Influence of International Large-Scale Assessments in Education” in Reliability and Validity of International Large-Scale Assessment. Understanding IEA’s Comparative Studies of Student Achievement, (ed.) Wagemaker, H. (2020). Springer, C. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-53081-5

Oliveri, M. E., Rutkowski, D., & Rutkowski, L. (2018). Bridging validity and evaluation to match international large-scale assessment claims and country aims. ETS Research Report Series, 2018(1), 1–9. https://doi.org/10.1002/ets2.12214.

[1] В книге «Международные взгляды на исследование эффективности образования», 2020. под ред. Hall и др.

0
Авторизация
*
*

Регистрация
*
*
*
Пароль не введен
*
Генерация пароля